Industry News

Wisconsin Broadcasters Association Forced to Change Award Winners

After handing out honors at its annual awards gala over the weekend, the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association is forced to take back three awards and give them to the rightful recipients. Two of the awards were in television categories but the third affected news/talk radio outlets. Seehafer Broadcasting’sim talk/AC/sports station WOMT-AM/W300EE, Manitowoc was named News Operation of the Year winner in Medium Market News and Talk Radio. Midwest Communications’ news/talk WTAQ, Green Bay was erroneously named the winner on Saturday night. The WBA says the stations have been informed and awards will be produced and delivered to the stations. WBA president Michelle Vetterkind says, “We are very sorry for the error. The points awarded for social/digital media categories were not attributed to the News Operation of the Year award calculation. In previous years, points for those categories did not go toward News Operation of the Year. That rule change was made for the 2022 contest but wasn’t incorporated into the tabulation process.”