Industry News

Broadcasters Foundation Recognizes Industry Leaders

Last Wednesday (4/19), the Broadcasters Foundation of America held its Annual Breakfast and gave out six Leadership Awards, the Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award, and the very special Chairman’s Award. Pictured above at the event are (from l-r): Steven Lanzano, president, Television Bureau of Advertising – Leadership Award; Deborah Parenti, president/publisher, Radio Ink/RBR+TVBR – Leadership Award; Scott Herman, chairman of the BFoA; Dan Mason, former CEO of CBS Radio and previous chairman of the BFoA – Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award; Tim McCarthy, president of the BFoA; Jim Doyle, founder, JDA Media – Leadership Award; Debra O’Connell, president, networks, The Walt Disney Company – Leadership Award; Cindy Thompson, who accepted the posthumous Chairman’s Award on behalf of her husband Jim Thompson, who had been president of the BFoA; Heidi Raphael, chief communications officer, Beasley Media Group – Leadership Award; Jim Thompson, who also accepted on behalf of his father. Not pictured is Julie Talbot, president of Premiere Networks, who accepted the posthumous Leadership Award on behalf of Rush Limbaugh.