Industry News

Class of 2023 Inducted into MBA Hall of Fame


The Massachusetts Broadcasters Association inducted the Class of 2023 into the Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame at a ceremony attended by almost 300 broadcasters, friends, and fans last Thursday (6/8). The six inductees are: retired long-time former sports anchor Mike Lynch from Boston’s WCVB-TV; the late and beloved videographer Therman Toon from Boston’s Channel 7; the late WBZ-TV, Boston, reporter, the gifted storyteller Bill Shields; from WBZ NewsRadio 1030, Boston, the heralded news reporter and “poet laureate” Carl Stevens; Spanish-language radio station entrepreneur Patrick Costa; and Lesley University communications professor and former rock and roll DJ Donna L. Halper. Halper also received the Hall of Fame Pioneer Award, given, as HOF committee chair Peter Brown explained, “to individuals who have distinguished themselves over decades for lasting contributions made to the broadcast industry and through a leadership role in their particular craft.”