Industry News

RTDNA to Honor 2024 First Amendment Honorees

The RTDNA Foundation announces its class of 2024 First Amendment Award honorees, recognizing 13 individuals and organizations for their efforts to promote responsible journalism and preserve the constitutionally guaranteed rights to do so. Recipients will be honored March 9 at the 33rd annual First Amendment Awards at The Watergate Hotel in Washington, D.C. RTDNA Foundation president Danim Shelley says, “It is our sacred duty to promote, protect and defend the First Amendment, which makes journalism the only vocation specifically protected in our Constitution. The individuals represented in this group of recipients embody the spirit of such journalism. And their work reminds us why it is so important to defend the First Amendment each and every day.” The honorees include: Gio Benitez, ABC News; Lauren Chooljian, New Hampshire Public Radio; Ingrid Ciprián-Matthews, CBS News; Evan Gershkovich, Wall Street Journal; Dylan Lyons, Spectrum News 13 “Citation of Courage”; Joan and Eric Meyer, Marion County Record, “Citation of Courage”; ProPublica; Rep. Jamie Raskin; Jesse Walden, Spectrum News 13, “Citation of Courage”; Clarissa Ward, CNN; Kristen Welker, NBC News; and Phil Williams, WVTF-TV, “Lifetime Achievement Award.”