Industry News

Caroline Beasley Speaks at Media Institute Luncheon


Beasley Media Group CEO Caroline Beasley is pictured (above center) with former FCC chairman and The Media Institute chairman Richard Wiley (right) and The Media Institute President and CEO Rick Kaplar (left) at the St. Regis Hotel in Washington, DC where she participated in a one-on-one interview with Wiley. She discussed topics including current policies impacting broadcasters on Capitol Hill and the challenges and opportunities presented by AI.

Industry News

BFoA Renames Lifetime Achievement Award in Honor of Ed McLaughlin

The Broadcasters Foundation of America announces the renaming of its annual Lifetime Achievement Award to the Edward F. McLaughlin Lifetime Achievement Award, in honor of the iconic broadcaster, who passed away in 2018. The Edward F. McLaughlin Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made invaluable contributions to the television and radio industries. As previously announced, this year’sBroadcasters Foundation of America - Broadcasting award will be presented to Richard Wiley during the Golden Mike Award gala on Monday, March 6, at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. McLaughlin — a former ABC Radio Networks president — is widely recognized for syndicating talk host Rush Limbaugh, a move considered instrumental in the evolution of the modern news/talk radio format. McLaughlin was a longtime supporter of the Broadcasters Foundation and its mission to provide aid to people in radio and television who are in acute need. He served as the Foundation’s chairman for many years and held the title of chairman emeritus when he passed away in 2018. BFoA chairman Scott Herman says, “Ed was known as a leader and innovator. He recognized talent and daringly pushed forth new ideas that propelled network and AM radio forward. It’s fitting that the Lifetime Award be named in his honor.”